QWERTY keayboard


A cautionary tale

23 Jun , 2017  

Today’s blog is a cautionary tale, to all those that use Adobe Photoshop CC. One Friday afternoon, we started having problems with the Adobe Creative Cloud application, running on one of our Windows 10 computers. Why does it always happen on a Friday when you’re trying to finish something before the weekend?

Despite our efforts, rebooting, uninstalling and reinstalling nothing worked. So it was time to call Adobe support. Trying to find a telephone number on the support website is a whole world of hurt. “We’re here to help” is a complete oxymoron. But, thanks to call logs on our mobiles we found a number to phone. After two hours on the phone, technical support got Creative Cloud working again and we could get on with our day.

Then on Sunday we noticed Photoshop CC had stopped recognising RAW files. Monday morning and another call to Adobe support. They tried to reinstall Photoshop CC. And here is the bit I didn’t realise, and caused us a whole load of pain.

When you uninstall Photoshop you get the option to keep your settings or delete them. Support chose to delete them. This one simple act wipes out all your customisation of Photoshop, Actions the lot.

When Adobe got Photoshop working again, it became obvious what we had lost. I didn’t worry after all it’s all backed up to Creative Cloud. No its not! Wrongly; I had assumed that everything was backed up to Adobe servers and all I had to do is restore, to get us back working again.

It appears that Sync Settings as of June 2017 is no longer available on Photoshop CC, Illustrator CC, and InDesign CC. So now it is up to you to make sure that everything is backed up. You have several ways to do this; one in Photoshop CC is to use the Preset Migration tool. More can be found at https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/preset-migration.html

As for us? We’re backing up everything to our server and then we know it’s safe. If you want to do the same. There are a set of folders on the computer you installed Photoshop on. If you back up these folders, you have all the change you have made to Photoshop. To get to the folder follow the directions below.

  1. Open File Explorer in Windows or Finder on Mac
  2. In the address bar type %appdata%
  3. Look for the folder named Adobe
  4. Find the Photoshop folder
  5. Copy the contents of this folder somewhere safe

Make sure you don’t get caught out as we did. Wrongly; we believed all Photoshop CC settings were being backed up to the cloud. This assumption has cost us about 15-20 hours of work to get back to where we were that fateful Friday.



Comments are closed.